From passion to business – The Papered Parlour

Setting up an online jewellery store ourselves we’re constantly inspired by people who successfully turned their passion into a business. We love Confucius’s quote:  “Give a man a job he loves, and he will never work a day in his life”;  this is exactly what we’re trying to achieve, so whenever we learn about other people doing the same thing we’ll write about them here and hopefully inspire more of you!

Ladies and Gentlemen – we give you The Papered Parlour.

Papered Parlour - Claire Heafford and Louise Hall

Claire and Louise met as arts graduates working for Battersea Arts Centre. United by their dream to make a living off artistic activity they joined forces to create and auction their artwork to raise money for their business investment. This is how The Papered Parlour was born.

Papered Parlour

They provide studio space for artists, offer a varied programme of workshops, and create incredibly engaging arts events.

Papered Parlour

In 2010 they won the Barclays Take One Small Step competition – and received £50,000 to aid the development of their arts space.  We wish them all the best for the future!

If you are thinking of making a career of your passion Barclays organise several free seminars and workshops that will help you get your feet off the ground. Good places to start are also Business Link services, and British Library Business & IP Centre that gives you free access to business databases perfect for an insightful market research.

4 thoughts on “From passion to business – The Papered Parlour

  1. Ah this is so lovely. I would love to set up my own business. I went down a different route during my education and didn’t study arts or crafts, so I’m behind in my skills, but would love some sort of creative business. I haven’t found the business idea I want to follow yet but I keep writing them down and one day maybe I will go ahead with it. Thanks for sharing!

    • Hi Kate,
      Thanks a lot for your comment! I love all arts and crafts as well. Creating things always makes me happy. Don’t feel limited by the fact that you never studied arts. My prior arts teacher told me once that people studying arts often end up having problems with their creativity once the course is over as they are so used to getting tasks to tackle and solve rather than take things up themselves. I believe that the passion and love for what you do is far more important than any diploma. I am sure you will find a business idea that will be a perfect fit for you. Good luck with it!

Leave a Reply

